Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Get the latest information about Spring 2022 Updates/COVID-19. Before coming to campus, take the COVID-19 Daily Screening.

Standard 4

Qualifications of Faculty
Qualified persons teach all courses and supervise all field experiences in each program of professional preparation.

ECE Graduate Program Faculty hold doctorates in ECE or closely related field, have previous teaching experience with young children, contribute to professional organizations and are accomplished scholars.

Shareen Abramson, Ph.D. (Vanderbilt University) – Former coordinator, ECE Graduate Program, Past Director of the Huggins Early Education Center and D. Paul Fansler Chair for Leadership in ECE. Expertise includes Reggio Emilia Approach, innovative curriculum, diverse learners, leadership development.

Dr. Abramson is a full-time, tenured full professor. She teaches Reading and Language Arts in ECE (LEE 232), Curriculum and Assessment in ECE, Final Project (LEE 298B) and Thesis (LEE 299).

Jacques Benninga, Ph.D. (Vanderbilt University) – Chairperson of the Curriculum and Instruction Department. Expertise includes psychological and cultural foundations of education, character education, professional ethics, concept development.

Dr Benninga is a full-time, tenured full professor. He teaches Trends and Issues in ECE (LEE 171), Concept Development in ECE LEE 235), Final Project (LEE 298B) and Thesis (LEE 299).

Pamela Lane-Garon, Ph.D. (Arizona State) - Former co-coordinator ECE Program. Expertise includes educational psychology; peer mediation and conflict resolution, character education and professional ethics.

Dr Lane-Garon is a full-time, tenured full professor. She teaches Advanced Psychological

Foundations (CI 285), Final Project (LEE 298B) and Thesis (LEE 299).

Susan Macy, Ed.D. (UC Davis—CSU, Fresno) - Coordinator, ECE Programs and KSOEHD Assessment Coordinator. Expertise in performance assessment, integrated curriculum; program evaluation; standards-based assessment Dr Macy is a full-time lecturer. She teaches Final Project (LEE 298B) and Thesis (LEE 299).

Marilyn Shelton, Ph.D. (Ohio State University) - Former co-coordinator ECE Program. Expertise includes multicultural education, professional portfolios, alternatives to violence, computers for young children

Dr. Shelton is a full-time, tenured full professor. She teaches Diversity and Inclusion in ECE (LEE 271), Fieldwork in ECE (LEE 241), Final Project (LEE 298B) and Thesis (LEE 299).

All ECE faculty, in addition to graduate degrees, have had extensive experience teaching in the primary grades (average primary experience of ECE faculty = 10 years). Full time graduate faculty meet the following criteria:

  • Holding membership in the KSOEHD Faculty Assembly.
  • Holding terminal degree in an appropriate area of specialization.
  • Having taught at least one graduate course and having supervised at least one project or thesis during the most recent five years.
  • Having adequate and appropriate teaching effectiveness as established by peer and student evaluations.
  • Showing evidence of scholarly activity appropriate to a specific graduate program. In general, a conference presentation, refereed publications every two years are considered minimal.
  • Participation on graduate program, school and/or University committees that focus on graduate curricula and related graduate issues.

ECE Faculty Contributions: Service, Teaching and Scholarship

ECE faculty are serve in leadership roles at the state and national levels and are involved in research and service projects at the local level in the public schools throughout the Valley. Examples of projects being led by ECE include peer conflict mediation and resolution, and character education.

In addition, ECE faculty provide workshops and other inservice opportunities at local schools whose populations are culturally and linguistically diverse. That partnership demands an awareness of pedagogical and assessment strategies appropriate for application in classrooms serving a culturally and linguistically diverse student clientele. Three members of the ECE Program faculty have received an Outstanding Faculty Publication Awards; Dr. Lane-Garon in l998, Dr. Marilyn Shelton in 2006, and Dr. Susan Macy in 2010. These publications document service to the schools and contribute to the knowledge base in their domains. Four ECE faculty have been recognized by the Bud and Jan Richter Award for Teaching Excellence: Drs. Lane- Garon, Macy, Abramson, and Benninga.

Back to Top