Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Master of Arts in Special Education

Carolyn Dobbs Special Education Teacher of the Year Award

Carolyn Dobbs Award StatueMary Carolyn Dobbs (1911 - 2011), a California State University, Fresno alumna, became a teacher and internationally renowned pioneer in special education.

Dr. Dobbs was awarded an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from the California State University at Fresno State’s 2004 Commencement. The honorary doctorate recognized her contributions to special education through her advocacy at the state and national levels and her tireless efforts to win teaching and legislative improvements for children with special needs.

Her selfless work brought significant changes at the state and national levels in the classroom and in everyday life for students, and she also was an advocate for support and assistance for teachers of special needs pupils.

The Carolyn Dobbs Special Education Teacher of the Year Award recognizes the importance of the work of special education professionals.

Award Recipients

The event for 2020-2021 was cancelled due to COVID restrictions. 

Year Name
2023 Meredith Pulliam
2022 Christoph Lusse
2019 Warren Bisel
2018 Yvonne Carlon & Leslie Hoffman
2017 Juan Contreras,
2015-16 Meaghan Young   & Cheryl McDonald 
2014 Brenda Hancock
2012-13 Libby Trutna & Leslie Cox
2011 Donald Rotella
2010 Claudia Woods
2009 Candace Mucci
2008 Carolee Clayton
2007 Laurie Hoke
2006 Marilyn Marsh
2005 Jeanne Cox