Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Kremen School of Education and Human Development



The university was established in 1911 under the name Fresno State Normal School. All academic programs were under the Division of Education.


Fresno State Normal School first graduating class and commencement exercise.

1912 Graduating Class
1912 Graduation Certificate


The state changed the university from a two year to a four year institution and authorized the granting of the Bachelor of Arts in Teaching. As the institution matured, the teacher education program was expanded and other non-teacher education disciplines were broken out into departments, divisions and schools.


Teacher Training School is built. The Teacher Training School was a fully functioning elementary school located on the University and Van Ness campus. It was often referred to as the College School. Students preparing to be elementary school teachers completed part of their student teaching observation assignment at this school. 

1947 Teacher Training School
1947 Teacher Training School

1950 Teacher Training School
1950 Teacher Training School


The current educational program became a separate Division of Education.


The Master of Arts in Education was awarded. The first master’s degree at Fresno State was awarded.


Laboratory School opens. This college lab demonstration school provided observation opportunities for student teachers.  

1953 Laboratory School


The School of Education was accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). 


The Fisher Act eliminated the Bachelor of Arts in Teaching and resulted in the general restructuring of professional education. Subsequently, teacher education programs required students to demonstrate academic competence, complete an academic degree and complete a prescribed curriculum in professional post-baccalaureate study.


The current educational program became a School of Education during the reorganization.


The university's name changed to California State University, Fresno.


Dr. Benjamin Kremen, a Professor of Counseling, retired. While on the faculty at California State University, Fresno, Dr. Kremen was a pioneer in counselor education and was nationally known for his work in K-12 guidance programs. He is credited with establishing the Master of Arts in Education degree at Fresno State, and with the development and coordination of pupil personnel guidance programs in Fresno and Madera counties.


The School of Education was renamed to the School of Education and Human Development.


The Joint Doctorate in Educational Leadership was initiated and offered in collaboration with the University of California, Davis.


Built education building on corner of Shaw and Maple. 

 1993 Dr. Monke
1994 Dr. Robert Monke

 1994 Kremen Building
1994 Education Building in unveiled 


Dr. Kremen passed away.


The school was named the Benjamin and Marion Kremen School of Education and Human Development in recognition of a four million dollar endowment. It is the first named school of education in the CSU system and one of only a few in the nation. It is the second school at the university bearing a donor’s name.


An independent Docatoral Program in Educational Leadership was established. 


The Advanced Program in Early Childhood Education was awarded National Recognition by the National Association of Education for Young Children.


The Kremen School of Education and Human Development was awarded the Christa McAuliffe Award for demonstrating effectiveness in producing P-12 learning outcomes and also demonstrating how we redesigned our programs as a result of data gathered.


History of Division Heads and Deans


Time Period


1913-1917 C. L. McLane President and Credential Authorization
1917-1927 Frank Thomas Vice President and Head of Education
Department of Education
1927-1947 A. R. Lang Head of Department
1947-1948 A. R. Lang Vice President and Head of Education
1948-1950 Ralph Evans Department Chair
Division of Education
1950-1958 Ralph Evans
1958-1962 Lewie Burnet
1962-1965 Richard Sparks
School of Education
1965-1972 Richard Sparks
1972-1976 Ralph Evans
1976-1977 William Maxwell
1977-1978 Lester Roth (Acting) 
1978-1979  Carl Stutzman (Acting) 
1979-1981 Homer Johnson
School of Education and Human Development
1981-1988 Homer Johnson
1988-1989 Robert Monke (Acting)
1989-1996 Barbara Burch
1996-1997 Robert Monke (Acting)
1997-2001 Paul Shaker
Kremen School of Education and Human Development  
2001-2003 Paul Shaker
2003-2018 Paul Beare
2018-2020 Laura Alamillo (Acting)
2020-Present Randy Yerrick