Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Kremen School of Education and Human Development

Department of Counselor Education and Rehabilitation

The Department of Counselor Education and Rehabilitation offers a variety of exciting educational opportunities for post-baccalaureate students seeking professional careers in the fields of Counselor Education. All programs are fully accredited and are recognized for excellence and innovation. Two programs in the Department of Counselor Education and Rehabilitation are CACREP accredited, the MS degree in Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling and MS degree in Counseling, option in Marriage, Family and Child Counseling.

Our Counselor Education program offers the Master of Science degree in Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling, the Master of Science degree in Counseling with options in School Counseling and Student Affairs and College Counseling, and the Master of Science degree in Marriage, Family and Child Counseling. We also offer the California Pupil Personnel Services (PPS) Credential for students seeking a career in school counseling.

We have earned special recognition from the Western Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (WACES) by receiving the Exemplary Program Award for outstanding innovations in providing professional preparation for counselors. California State University, Fresno has also recently been ranked #9 for the Best Affordable School Counseling Degree Program. Information regarding this ranking can be found at the link here


Call for Third-Party Comment

Submission Deadline: March 5, 2022

On April 3-4, California State University, Fresno will host an accreditation visit by the Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (AAQEP). In preparation for the visit, the AAQEP Quality Review Teams are soliciting public comment about the quality of educator preparation provided by the university’s initial and advanced programs. All comments must be submitted by March 5, 2022 through the AAQEP website: Submit Comment

Contact Us

Visit Us: Education Building ED 350

Mailing Address: 5005 N. Maple Ave. M/S ED3 Fresno, CA 93740-8025

Dr. Alicia Becton
Department Chair
559.278.0340
abecton@mail.fresnostate.edu 

April Cardiel
Administrative Support Coordinator
559.278.0340
acardiel@csufresno.edu 

Meet Our Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Full-Time Faculty List
Name Title Email
Alicia Becton Associate Professor and Department Chair abecton@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Yuleinys Castillo Assistant Professor and Coordinator,  Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling yacastillo@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Jeff Crane Assistant Professor jcrane@csufresno.edu 
Yasar Nur Dedeoglu Assistant Professor ydedeoglu@csufresno.edu 
Mandy Greaves Assistant Professor mgreaves@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Ramar Henderson Assistant Professor rhenderson@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Song Lee Professor malee@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Christopher Lucey Professor and Director, Fresno Family Counseling Center clucey@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Sergio Pereyra Assistant Professor dans@csufresno.edu 
Jenelle Pitt Parker Professor and Associate Dean jepitt@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Gitima Sharma Associate Professor and Coordinator, School Counseling Graduate Program and Pupil Personnel Services Credential gsharma@mail.fresnostate.edu 
H. Dan Smith Faculty Early Retirement Program dans@csufresno.edu 
Wei-Mo Tu Assistant Professor weimo@csufresno.edu 
Albert Valencia Faculty Early Retirement Program albertv@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Kyle Weir Professor kweir@csufresno.edu 
Soua Xiong Assistant Professor and Coordinator, Student Affairs and College Counseling Graduate Program sxrhs@mail.fresnostate.edu 

Part-Time Faculty

Part-Time Faculty List
Name Title Email
Rocio Arevalo Lecturer rea09@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Lynette Bartucci Lecturer lbartucci@csufresno.edu 
Geni Bird Lecturer gbird@csufresno.edu 
Jessica Bloom Lecturer bloomja@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Garbralle Conroe Lecturer gconroe@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Shimeka Conway Lecturer shimekac@csufresno.edu 
Cheri Cruz Lecturer ccruz@csufresno.edu 
Herbert Cruz Lecturer hcruz@csufresno.edu 
Lauren Dollarhide Lecturer ldollarhide@csufresno.edu 
Erica Eastes Lecturer eananian@csufresno.edu 
Frances Echeverria Lecturer fecheverria@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Jennifer Engelbert Lecturer jengelbert@csufresno.edu 
Howard Glidden Lecturer hglidden@csufresno.edu 
Maira Hernandez Lecturer mairamh@csufresno.edu 
Susan Holt Lecturer suholt@csufresno.edu 
Steven Koobatian Lecturer skoobatian@csufresno.edu 
Chong Lee Lecturer clee@csufresno.edu 
Tina Lock Lecturer lock2@csufresno.edu 
Gregory Lomack Lecturer glomack@csufresno.edu 
Susan Meadows Lecturer susanme@csufresno.edu 
Emily Paradise Lecturer eparadise@csufresno.edu 
David Paul Lecturer davidpaul@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Ray Ramirez Lecturer danzante85@gmail.com 
Nayantara Rodrigues Lecturer nrodrigues@csufresno.edu 
Victoria Sanders Lecturer vsanders@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Xee Thao Lecturer melaniethao8@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Shemya Vaughn Lecturer shemya@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Aaron Wadsworth Lecturer wadsworth@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Yuchen Wang Lecturer ywang@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Pa Nhia Xiong Lecturer yang0904@mail.fresnostate.edu