Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Kremen School of Education and Human Development

Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Faculty in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction (C&I) are committed to educational equity, excellence, and empowerment through their research, service, and instruction. The department is proud to provide coursework and clinical experiences for over 500 prospective PreK-12 teachers every year. All teaching credential programs are designed to prepare teachers to be reflective thinkers, problem solvers, and decision makers who are equipped to meet the challenges and opportunities of teaching in a rapidly evolving world characterized by technological advances and rich sociocultural and linguistic diversity.

During 2021-22, faculty will provide courses for 34 cohorts of Multiple Subject, Single Subject, and Education Specialist credential candidates! We currently have educationally powerful Multiple Subject teacher residency programs in Clovis, Fresno, Madera, and Sanger Unified school districts; and an exciting new Rural Residency program with Firebaugh–Las Deltas, Golden Plains, Kerman, and Mendota Unified school districts launches in Fall 2021.

In addition to offering teacher preparation coursework, the Department of Curriculum and Instruction provides research courses for a dozen graduate programs across four departments in the Kremen School. Research faculty offer a Certificate of Advanced Study in Research Methods (CASRM), and many department faculty also teach courses in the Doctoral Program in Educational Leadership at Fresno State (DPELFS). The department also offers the Certificate of Advanced Study in Educational Technology (CASET). Courses in this program are often taken as electives by students in the department’s two master’s programs which serve over 100 students a year: (a) the fully online Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program and (b) the Master of Arts in Education–Curriculum and Instruction option (M.A.Ed.-C&I) program, a highly flexible master’s program that can be tailored to students’ areas of professional interest.

You’re invited to visit the faculty webpages to learn more about the Curriculum and Instruction Department faculty and their professional interests. For more information about the department, please contact the Department Chair via phone or email.


Call for Third-Party Comment

Submission Deadline: March 5, 2022

On April 3-4, California State University, Fresno will host an accreditation visit by the Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (AAQEP). In preparation for the visit, the AAQEP Quality Review Teams are soliciting public comment about the quality of educator preparation provided by the university’s initial and advanced programs. All comments must be submitted by March 5, 2022 through the AAQEP website: Submit Comment

Contact Us

Curriculum and Instruction faculty zoom group photo

Visit Us: Education Building ED 250

Mailing Address: 5005 N. Maple Ave. M/S ED2 Fresno, CA 93740-8025

Dr. Carol Fry Bohlin
- Department Chair
- Program Coordinator, M.A. in Education, Curriculum and Instruction Option
- Director, Mathematics and Science Teacher Initiative
559.278.0237 
carolb@csufresno.edu 

Martha Lomeli
Administrative Analyst Specialist
559.278.0252
marthal@csufresno.edu 

Meet Our Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Earl Aguilera

Earl Aguilera
Assistant Professor

Dr. Jacques Benninga

Jacques S. Benninga
Professor Emeritus

Placeholder

Kathryn (Kat) Biacindo
Associate Professor

Dr. Carol Fry Bohlin

Carol Fry Bohlin
Professor • Department Chair • Program Coordinator, M.A. in Education, Curriculum and Instruction Option

Dr. Roy Bohlin

Roy Bohlin
Professor Emeritus • Program Coordinator, Certificate of Advanced Study in Educational Technology

Dr. Lynette Guzman

Lynette Guzmán
Assistant Professor

Dr. Jose Lomeli

Jose Lomeli
Professor

Dr. Patricia Lopez

Patricia D. López
Assistant Professor

Dr. Rohit Mehta

Rohit Mehta
Assistant Professor

Felipe Mercado Headshot

Felipe Mercado
Full-Time Lecturer and Coordinator, Office of Clinical Practice

Placeholder

Joe Parks
Professor

Dr. Trang Phan

Trang Phan
Assistant Professor

Susan Schleivert Headshot

Susan Schlievert
Full-Time Lecturer

Dr. Susan Tracz

Susan Tracz
Professor Emerita • Program Coordinator, Certificate of Advanced Study in Research Methods

Dr. Christian Wandeler

Christian Wandeler
Associate Professor

Dr. Mariya Yukhymenko

Mariya (Masha) Yukhymenko
Associate Professor

Part-Time Faculty

Part-Time Faculty List
Name Title Email
Debra Ann Antrim Lecturer debantrim@csufresno.edu 
Benjamin Ismael Avila Lecturer benjamina@csufresno.edu 
Kati Begen Lecturer katigraham@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Roger Wayne Bergman Lecturer rogerbergman@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Kathy Blumer Lecturer kblumer@csufresno.edu 
Stephen C. Bock Lecturer sbock@csufresno.edu 
Stella Bohn Lecturer sbohn@csufresno.edu 
Laura Bolton Lecturer laurabolton@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Deborah N. Brown Lecturer deborahb@csufresno.edu 
Teresa Calderon Lecturer tcalderon@csufresno.edu 
Carlos Castillo Lecturer castillo@csufresno.edu 
David Michael Childers Lecturer dchilders@csufresno.edu 
Eric Crantz Lecturer ecrantz@csufresno.edu 
Michael Darling Lecturer midarling@csufresno.edu 
Kay M. Davies Lecturer kayd@csufresno.edu 
Denise Dedini Lecturer ddedini@csufresno.edu 
Lesley Gates Lecturer lgates@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Corey Preston Greenlaw Lecturer cgreenlaw@csufresno.edu 
Armando Gomez Lecturer agomez@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Christina Haugh Lecturer christinaha@csufresno.edu 
Nancy Her Lecturer ny031@csufresno.edu 
Nadia Hoover Lecturer nmhoover@csufresno.edu 
Ashley Howell Lecturer ashleyhowell@csufresno.edu 
Belen Salcido Hoyt Lecturer belenhoyt@csufresno.edu 
Amber Leann Jacobo Lecturer ajacobo@csufresno.edu 
John Harvey Jarvis Lecturer jjarvis@csufresno.edu 
Deborah Kelly Lecturer debikelly@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Judith Lynn Kenney Lecturer judylynn49@csufresno.edu 
Taryn Krazan Lecturer tkrazan@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Juan A. Lopez Lecturer julopez@csufresno.edu 
John L. Maurer Lecturer john@csufresno.edu 
Sommer Leigh Moss Lecturer sommermoss@csufresno.edu 
Tina Attashian Nakashian Lecturer tnakashian@csufresno.edu 
Les Nunes Lecturer leslien@csufresno.edu 
Jeran Ott Lecturer jott@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Henry D. Placenti Lecturer henryp@csufresno.edu 
Joseph Stephen Price Lecturer josephp@csufresno.edu 
Aileen Rizo Lecturer aileen@csufreno.edu 
Judy A. Roberts Lecturer jroberts@csufresno.edu 
Carmen Rodriguez Lecturer cr123@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Samuel Rodriguez Lecturer smrodrig@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Deborah Lynn Rogers Lecturer derogers@csufresno.edu 
Robert Rutherford Lecturer robertrutherford@csufresno.edu 
Helen Doris Scheidt Lecturer hscheidt@csufresno.edu 
Sandra D. Seals Lecturer seals4241@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Pamela J. Sells Lecturer psells@csufresno.edu 
Yolanda Shahbazian Lecturer yshahbazian@csufresno.edu 
Sina Shamp Lecturer sshamp@csufresno.edu 
Eugene Sumio Shimizu Lecturer eshimizu@csufresno.edu 
Patiane Shimizu Lecturer pshimizu@csufresno.edu 
Juan J. Silva Lecturer jusilva@csufresno.edu 
Tracy Smith Lecturer trsmith@csufresno.edu 
Susan Elaine Smits Lecturer ssmits@csufresno.edu 
Carol Surabian Lecturer casurabian@csufresno.edu 
Sam Oliver Taylor Jr. Lecturer samt@csufresno.edu 
Cynthia Lee Torrance Lecturer ctorrance@csufresno.edu 
Ricci L. Ulrich Lecturer rulrich@csufresno.edu 
Susan Anne Van Doren Lecturer svandoren@csufresno.edu 
Bernadette D. Vazquez Lecturer vazquez@csufresno.edu 
Gladys Villanueva Lecturer gladux17@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Debra Ann Walker Lecturer debrawalker@csufresno.edu 
Jennifer Weibert Lecturer jweibert@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Melanie R. Wenrick Lecturer mwenrick@csufresno.edu 
Dennis Robert Wiechmann Lecturer dwiechmann@csufresno.edu 
Kristie Wiens Lecturer kristiewiens@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Martha A. Zinn Lecturer mzinn@csufresno.edu 
Yvonne Helen Zysling Lecturer yvonnezys@mail.fresnostate.edu