Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Kremen School of Education and Human Development

Department of Literacy, Early, Bilingual and Special Education

The department offers programs which are innovative, accredited and promote excellence in the educational field. It’s programs are committed to the teaching of social justice and culturally sustaining pedagogies. It also recognizes the value of working with diverse populations, and is dedicated to the equity and excellence of all students. Our programs prepare those wanting to become elementary (K-8), highschool (9-12), or special education teachers. It also offers graduate level coursework leading to a master’s degree, advanced credentials, and certificates.

Our teaching credential programs include three (3) preliminary  teaching credential programs: Multiple Subject,  Single Subject, and an Education Specialist. The department also offers a Bilingual Spanish or Hmong Authorization and a Certificate of Chicana/o/x and Latina/o/x Studies in Secondary Schooling.

At the graduate level, the LEBSE Department offers a Master of Arts program in Education with an option in Multilingual Multicultural Education, a Master of Arts program with an option in Reading/Language Arts with an added authorization and an advanced credential. It also offers a Master of Arts in Early Childhood Education with an advanced credential and a Master of Arts in Special Education

Department Vision, Mission and Beliefs

Vision

To empower education professionals, schools, and communities.

Mission

The mission of the Department of Literacy, Early, Bilingual, and Special Education is to engage and holistically support our teacher candidates and graduate students in developing competencies, knowledge, and resources to equitably serve our broader communities.

Beliefs

  1. We believe in inclusive education and that all means all students.
  2. We believe our diverse abilities, backgrounds, cultures, languages, and literacies are assets.
  3. We believe in creating developmentally appropriate educational experiences that encourage development of the whole person through deep questioning, research, and reflection.
  4. We believe in the discovery and advancement of new knowledge through collaborative inquiry, innovation, and research.
  5. We believe in engaging our broader communities as partners to maintain open communication, build trust, and foster relationships with students, educators, and families.

You’re invited to visit the faculty webpages to learn more about the LEBSE Department faculty and their professional interests. For more information about the department, please contact the Department Chair and/or the Department Administrative Support Coordinator via phone or email.

Contact Us

Visit Us: Education Building ED 250

Mailing Address: 5005 N. Maple Ave. M/S ED202, Fresno, CA 93740-8025

Imelda Basurto
Department Chair
559.278.0285
ibasurto@csufresno.edu 

LEBSE FAQ'S

Have a question, read our Frequently Asked Question (FAQ) sheet (link) for an answer!

Meet Our Faculty

Interested in teaching for the LEBSE Department? Click here if you are! 

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty

 
Name Title Email
Imelda Basurto Professor, Department Chair and Coordinator, Single Subject Credential Program ibasurto@csufresno.edu 
Lisa Bennett Associate Professor lbennett@csufresno.edu 
Monica Billen Associate Professor and Coordinator, Reading/Literacy Graduate Program mbillen@csufresno.edu 
Christina Bosch Assistant Professor cbosch@csufresno.edu 
Feiyan Chen Associate Professor  fchen@csufresno.edu 
Kimberly Coy Associate Professor kcoy@csufresno.edu 
Erika Garcia Assistant Professor

erikagarcia@mail.fresnostate.edu

William Garnett Assistant Professor and Coordinator, Special Education Graduate Program wgarnett@csufresno.edu 
Steve Hart Professor and Sanger Professor in Residence smhart@csufresno.edu 
Heather Horsley Assistant Professor and Coordinator,  Residency Programs hhorsley@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Teresa Huerta Associate Professor and Coordinator, Multilingual Multicultural Education Graduate Program thuerta@csufresno.edu 
Ana Soltero Lopez Associate Professor and Coordinator, Bilingual Authorization Program asolterolopez@mail.fresnostate.edu 
David Low Associate Professor dlow@csufresno.edu 
Michael Mahoney Assistant Professor and Coordinator, Education Specialist   mwmm@csufresno.edu
Dana Powell Professor danac@csufresno.edu 
Kristina Rios Assistant Professor krios@csufresno.edu 
Tony Vang Associate Professor tvang@csufresno.edu 
Juliet Wahleithner Associate Professor and Co-Director of Teacher Education jwahleithner@csufresno.edu 
Pei-Ying Wu Assistant Professor and Fansler Chair, Joyce M. Huggins Early Education Center, ECE Graduate Program Coordinator peiwu@mail.fresnostate.edu 

Full-Time Faculty

 
Name Title Email
Catherine Mathis Lecturer 

cmathis@csufresno.edu 

Part-Time Faculty

 
Name Title Email
Jill Bonds Lecturer

jillbonds@mail.fresnostate.edu

Suzanne Brandl Lecturer sbrandl@csufresno.edu 
Eric Calderon Lecturer/Coach

epcp2010@mail.fresno.edu

Karen Dockery Lecturer kdockery@csufresno.edu 
Thea Fabian Lecturer

tfabian@csufresno.edu

Jessica Galvan Lecturer

jsn16@mail.fresnostate.edu

Maria Goff Lecturer

mgoff@mail.fresnostate.edu

Janeen Goreen Lecturer

janeengoree@mail.fresnostate.edu

Christina Macias Lecturer clmacias@mail.fresnostate.edu 
Mathew Scott Merrill Lecturer

mscottmerrill@mail.fresnostate.edu

Lisa McPhetridge Lecturer mcphetridge@csufresno.edu 
Tangee Pinheiro Lecturer tgpinheiro@csufresno.edu 
Joshua Salinas Lecturer

jsalinas@mail.fresnostate.edu

Sandra Richardson Lecturer sarichardson@csufresno.edu 
Tracy Smith Lecturer/Coach trsmith@csufresno.edu 
Chrystal Swart Lecturer

Chrystalswart@mail.fresnostate.edu

Vang Thao Lecturer

vangthao@mail.fresnostate.edu

Lisa Thompkins Lecturer

ltompkins@mail.fresnostate.edu

Maria Valdez Lecturer

mevaldez@mail.fresnostate.edu

Jeannette Vestal Lecturer jvestal@csufresno.edu 
Gladys Villanueva Lecturer

gladux17@mail.fresnostate.edu

Nancy Walker Lecturer nawalker@csufresno.edu 
Kathy Wandler Lecturer kwandler@csufresno.edu 
Vicky Xiong-Lor Lecturer

vxionglor@mail.fresnostate.edu

Ellen Youssef Lecturer ellenyoussef@csufresno.edu 

Deborah Folmer

Clinical Practice Coach

ddf20@csufresno.edu 

Shelley Franco

Clinical Practice Coach

shelleyfranco@csufresno.edu 

Patricia Lewis

Clinical Practice Coach

plewis@csufresno.edu 

Sharon Malang

Clinical Practice Coach

sharonmalang@csufresno.edu

Sina Shamp

Clinical Practice Coach

sshamp@csufresno.edu

Geoffrey Tiftick

Clinical Practice Coach

gtiftick@mail.fresnostate.edu